India: Reading, Watching, Checking Out Things

For people interested in India, I’ve dug up and compiled some books, movies, and a website I think is really good.

A few novels that I read and enjoyed greatly. (My favorite is A Fine Balance.)
A Fine Balance, Rohinton Mistry, 1996
The Death of Vishnu, Manil Suri, 2001
Shantaram, Gregory David Roberts, 2005
The Inheritance of Loss, Kiran Desai, 2006
(The) White Tiger, Aravind Adiga, 2008

A few movies I watched on Netflix: Mumbai Meri Jaan, Kurbaan, Outsourced, The Darjeeling Limited; Ghandi, My Father; Mr and Mrs. Iyer; Amu; and Water.They’re all very different, but I enjoyed all of them.

A non-fiction book that I loved, even though I was completely worn out by the time I finished it:
Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found, Suketu Mehta, 2009

Lots of good stuff on this Website: http://www.indiamike.com/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment