A Great Weekend

I met with Naji from the Embassy at his request this morning at 10:30. He came by and picked me (and my photocopier) up. We then went to the Radisson around the corner for coffee. I had a list of things I wanted to ask him for information about or help with. He sorted out most of my issues very quickly with a couple of phone calls. One of the solutions, however, called for two photos, which Naji was dismayed to find I didn’t have on me. I had told him earlier that I was heading to Palm City to attend a “Ladies Who Lunch” event at the Movida at 12:00. Sounds simple enough, but Naji couldn’t believe that I didn’t have a phone number to call for directions, nor did the concierge at the Radisson know for sure where the Movida was. I naively asked about calling information. Naji suggested we head back to my flat so I could pick up the photos, while he explained to the taxi driver his mission to get me to Palm City, etc. Somehow Josh and Jared from the Embassy were there waiting to pick up the photocopier from Naji.  They had advice and phone numbers for my great adventure.  Anyhow I got to Palm City quite easily and then to Movida and had a great time.

Friday.  I was up at the crack of dawn to get ready for a trip with the Archaeological Society of Tripoli (AST) to Mizda.  I packed a lunch and made sure I had sunscreen and extra water with me and headed to the Radisson to get a taxi.  When I arrived at the car park (parking lot) near the entrance to the Regatta compound, I saw a big bus and lots of ex-pats milling about. Yeah! I paid my money and filled out duplicate paperwork and boarded the bus. It was a long, tiring, great day!

This website is not an official U.S. Department of State website. The views and information presented are the English Language Fellows’ own and do not represent the English Language Fellow Program or the U.S. Department of State

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment